Chimera.slayer path??

As I was making my way through the Costello tutorial, I cannot get chimera.slayer command to work although I have downloaded the file:blast-2.2.16-universal-macosx.tar.gz from the website and followed the directions on the chimera wiki page. I placed both the formatdb and megablast executables in a folder I call blast/bin and placed this folder beside the mother executable in my mothurtutorial folder located on my desktop. This is the output:

mothur > chimera.slayer(reference=silva.gold.align, processors=4)

Using stool.trim.unique.good.align as input file for the fasta parameter.
Checking sequences from stool.trim.unique.good.align …
Reading sequences from silva.gold.align…Done.
sh: ./blast/bin/formatdb: No such file or directory

Only reporting sequence supported by 90% of bootstrapped results.
sh: ./blast/bin/megablast: No such file or directory

I am very new to the mac world so please tell me what am I doing wrong?
Thank you

We’re working on a far less wonky fix for this and apologize for the problems people are having. When you go into your “mothurtutorial” folder and type “ls” do you see an executable file called “mothur” and a folder called “blast”?

Pat

If I type “Is” when I click on the folder mothurmanual, I see the mother executable and a folder named “blast/bin” that I created, but not a folder named “blast”. When I downloaded the 2.2.16 file, I created a folder named blast/bin and dragged the blast and formatdb executable files from the bin folder (from the downloaded file) into the blast/bin folder that I created. Otherwise, If I type “Is” in the search window after I click on the folder mothermanual I see neither the mothur executable or the blast/bin folder I created.?

sorry - too much shorthand… next to the executable should be a folder called blast. inside the folder called blast should be a folder called bin. inside that folder should be a number of executables including formatdb and megablast