Using mothur examples as is runs into problems...

Hi all,

I’m just beginning to look at mothur and I have been running into some problems -

1. The example (Costello stool analysis) documentation has many problems in the illustrated outputs. I realize they are only illustrations, but using the data downloaded I have been getting slightly different results. Is this normal? Also, the number of good filtered sequences after 6 or 7 steps does not seem to be what the output box says…is that because I’m running on Linux? Also, I got different results on two different runs (16 once and 2 next time) for the final good and unique sequences. Is this normal?

2. I am trying to run the modified version of chimaera slayer, but it expects blast executables somewhere in the installed mothur tree and I am not sure where to get the executables - formatdb, blastall, and megablast. Here are the errors -

mothur > chimera.slayer(reference=silva.gold.align, processors=2)

Using stool.trim.unique.good.align as input file for the fasta parameter.
Checking sequences from stool.trim.unique.good.align …
Reading sequences from silva.gold.align…Done.
[ERROR]: /largefs/aragam/Mothur-1.19.4/blast/bin/formatdb file does not exist. mothur requires formatdb.exe to be in the ./blast/bin folder relative to the mothur.exe location.
[ERROR]: /largefs/aragam/Mothur-1.19.4/blast/bin/blastall file does not exist. mothur requires blastall.exe to be in the ./blast/bin folder relative to the mothur.exe location.
[ERROR]: /largefs/aragam/Mothur-1.19.4/blast/bin/megablast file does not exist. mothur requires megablast.exe to be in the ./blast/bin folder relative to the mothur.exe location.

Could someone please help me? I am very very new to mothur and the sequencing software. Thanks much in advance,

Nash

Hi Naragam,