All sequences lost after trim.seqs

Hello,

I am new to Mothur and currently following a protocol from another lab for analyzing Illumina MiSeq data. I got the data de-multiplexed and the barcodes have been removed, but I still need to remove the primers. Before doing so, I used the make.contigs command, which works fine. Then I want to use the trim.seqs command for removing the primer sequences.

My primer.oligos file looks like this:

forward CCTACGGGNGGCWGCAG
reverse GGATTAGATACCCBDGTAGTN

When I use “less myfiles.trim.contigs.fasta” I can see the primer sequences in the data (exactly in the beginning and at the end of the sequence), but when executing the command

trim.seqs(fasta=myfiles.trim.contigs.fasta, oligos=primer.oligos)

all my sequences are put to the scrap file because the reverse primer is not found (they all have the “r”-tag). I already tried to add “pdiffs=2” to the command, but nothing changes.
When I use only the forward primer in the oligo file, it works. When I use only the reverse sequence it doesn’t.

I am sorry, if I missed another thread where this is discussed already.

Thank you so much for any idea how to solve this.
Kind regards,
Anja

Hello,

So here it says that paired primers in your oligos file should be formatted in a specific way:

primers ForwardSeq ReverseSeq

So changing that format may help?

Cheers
Richard

Thanks for your reply. I also saw a post that used the one-line format for the paired primers and changed the oligo file accordingly, but then not even the forward primer is recognized and I still have all sequences sorted to the scrap-file.
Also I am curious, why the Mothur Wiki (https://www.mothur.org/wiki/Trim.seqs#oligos) says to format the oligo file with the primers individually…?

May this be a problem with the degenerate primers?