Pre.cluster removes the majority of sequences and names mismatch

Hi,

I am still a mothur rookie but have encountered several problems at the pre.cluster stage (and then subsequently as I have tried various other commands to try and resolve this). Please ignore processor use numbers as I have varied these according to the number of samples I have included in the analysis:

I am using mothur v 1.44.1. The entire set of commands I am using is as follows:
make.contigs(file=IDtestStudy.txt, trimoverlap=F, processors=4)
summary.seqs(fasta=current)
count.groups(group=current)
screen.seqs(fasta=current, group=current, maxambig=0, maxhomop=6, minlength=200, maxlength=450, processors=4)
summary.seqs(fasta=current) count.groups(group=current)

exit Mothur and trim sequences using a prinseq

reload Mothur:
unique.seqs(fasta=IDtestStudy_prinseq_good.fasta)
summary.seqs(fasta=current, name=current, processors=4) count.groups(group=IDtestStudy.contigs.good.groups)
align.seqs(fasta=current, reference=silva.nr_v132.align, flip=T, processors=4) summary.seqs(fasta=current, name=current)
screen.seqs(fasta=current, name=current, group=current, summary=IDtestStudy_prinseq_good.unique.summary, start=1046, end=6421, processors=4)
summary.seqs(fasta=current, name=current) count.groups(group=current)
filter.seqs(fasta=current, vertical=T, trump=., processors=4)
summary.seqs(fasta=current, name=current)
unique.seqs(fasta=current, name=current)
summary.seqs(fasta=current, name=current)
pre.cluster(fasta=current, name=current, group=current, diffs=3)
summary.seqs(fasta=current, name=current) count.groups(group=current)

At this stage I enter issues. Firstly the pre.cluster removes the vast majority of the sequences. E.g.:
Processing group XXXXX_1:
XXXXX_14 1121 86 1035
Total number of sequences before pre.cluster was 1121.
pre.cluster removed 1035 sequences.

Once pre.cluster finishes and I try to run summary seqs, I get the following error:
mothur > summary.seqs(fasta=current, name=current)