Phylotype command

Hi,

I am using Costello stool analysis to practice and I am up to phylotype-based analysis.

When I type

phylotype(taxonomy=stool.final.taxonomy, name=stool.final.names) command in mothur, it crashes.

I am using Windows and mothur v.1.21.1

Your help will be appreciated.

Hmmm… sounds odd. Can you email your files to mothur.bugs@gmail.com?

Hi I also have the same problem with Mothur crashing after I run the phylotype command. I am running Windows also. I see this is quite an old forum post, was this issue ever resolved? I am thinking there is probably a problem with the files I have generated before this point.

Many thanks in advance!

No, they never followed up with us, unfortunately

I also suspect it’s a problem with your older files, but what version of mothur are you running? You might try going back a few steps and re running the commands and see if the issue resolves itself.

Hi! I am also a beginner and I am trying OTUs and Phylotype approaches to see want comes from my data with both approaches. With OTUs I used 0.03 cutoff that if I got it right, will at the end classify my sequences in OTUs identified to the sub-genus level.
With Phylotype, I don’t fully understand how to select the label. The help reads:

The labels count up from the leaves to the root of the phylotree. There may only be a couple of level in your phylotree that you are interested in seeing. You can use the label option to specific the levels you would like. If you want the data for the lines labeled unique, 1, 3 and 5 you would enter:

So, how do I know to which taxonomic level correspond each number? using label=1 as in the SOP454 tutorial, the sequences will be classified to the genus level? and to which levels correspond the other numbers? I don’t know how to count the leaves when some lineages have sub-class or sub-order and others don’t.
And the numbers correspond to the same levels no matter if we use RDP taxonomy or SILVA taxonomy?