Make.contig problem

Hi all,

I am very new at bioinformatics, and I’m having similar issues to those already outlined with sequences from Argonne (e.g. DEMULTIPLEXING MISEQ PAIRED READS). I joined a MiSeq 2x250 bp PE sequencing run with another lab and they have the demultiplexed files, but are unable to share due to an IT issue on the sequencing facilities end, thus leaving me with non-demultiplexed files. I’ve tried make.contigs many times, based on the instructions in the thread I linked above and others. There seems to be a problem with the barcode mismatching. When by bdiffs parameter is set to 0, most of my files end up in scrap because the bdiffs are 3-5 bp length. Either way, when I proceed forward to summary.seqs, I get the majority of my contigs at <<251 bp (the expected length).

Files from Sequencing facility:
R1: Undetermined_S0_L001_R1_001.fastq
R2: Undetermined_S0_L001_R2_001.fastq
Forward Index: Undetermined_S0_L001_I1_001.fastq.
Mapping: #SampleID BarcodeSequence LinkerPrimerSequence Description

LinkerPrimerSequence: GTGTGYCAGCMGCCGCGGTAA

Work:
Oligos File

barcode CAATTCTGCTTC NONE AF1
barcode GTTATACATTCA NONE AF2

note: past forums have suggested including the linkerprimersequence in the first line as “LPS NONE”, but that results in no .groups. file being generated
as suggested in past forums, I have also tried the rc version of the oligos file, and switching the barcode to column 3. Regardless, I continued:

make.contigs(ffastq=Undetermined_S0_L001_R1_001.fastq, rfastq=Undetermined_S0_L001_R2_001.fastq, findex=Undetermined_S0_L001_I1_001.fastq, oligos=oligos, bdiffs=3)

summary.seq:

In sum, there seems to be two issues,

1. the mismatches in the barcodes issue- without setting bdiffs to at least 3, most of my contigs end up in scrap
  2. resulting in far shorter sequences than anticipated.