DEMULTIPLEXING MISEQ PAIRED READS

Hello,

I am very new with Illumina sequencing and also with Mothur. I just received my sequences back from the sequence facility after being run in Miseq. They sent me four files:

1. Index file: Undetermined_S0_L001_I1_001.fastq.
  2. R1: Undetermined_S0_L001_R1_001.fastq
  3. R2: Undetermined_S0_L001_R2_001.fastq
  4. mapping file with barcodes with the header: #SampleID BarcodeSequence LinkerPrimerSequence Description

I know I have to demultiplex but I am not sure if there is a command in Mothur. I think it could be done with trim.seqs, but I am not sure how my oligos file should look like. I don´t really understand what the index file means.

Any suggestions?

Thank you!

Please see the wiki page for make.contigs and then let me know where you’re at with your data.

Pat

HI Pat,

Following Miseq SOP make.contigs, I used the following command:
make.contigs(ffastq=Undetermined_S0_L001_R1_001.fastq, rfastq=Undetermined_S0_L001_R2_001.fastq, findex=Undetermined_S0_L001_I1_001.fastq, oligos=epibiont.oligos, processors=7)

My oligos file that I created looks like this:

primer GTGTGCCAGCMGCCGCGGTAA CCGGACTACHVGGGTWTCTAAT
barcode CATGTCTTCCAT NONE SPAK11R
barcode GTTACAGTTGGC NONE SPAK11P
barcode CGGACTCGTTAC NONE SPAK13R
barcode TCTCGCACTGGA NONE SPAK13P
barcode TTCTGGTCTTGT NONE SPAK24bR
barcode GTCCACTTGGAC NONE SPAK23P

The first line corresponding to the forward and reverse primer according to the Caporaso paper. I also added the primer linkers in the sequences (the first CC and GT), I am not sure if that might have created the problem.

I just have the forward Index file, this is why I put NONE in the third column.

After mothur processed everything it created 4 files (see below), but I see some problems: