Installation

I am completely new to these types of programs C++ command lines etc, I think I have installed the program mothur and X-code. I am on a macbook and have a terminal window open and typed the command ./mothur and I have a command line that says mothur >

So is this an indication it is installed correctly and in the installation guide it says hopefully, mothur will open in the interactive mode. How do I know if this is the interactive mode or not?

Please keep answers simple! Thank you

Yep, sounds like you’ve got it right if you are seeing mothur >

Thank you, where is the best place to go now to know what to do now. I am totally new to command lines etc. I have a memory stick from NGS sequencing company that has bioinformatics done and in the mothur folder there are 4 files that I need to open but don’t know how to, so need some idiots guide!

Have you followed the MiSeq SOP? http://www.mothur.org/wiki/MiSeq_SOP

In the installation wiki on mothur is says about a makefile. “If you are analyzing large data sets (e.g. from pyrosequencing) in OS X and you have more than 2 GB of RAM in your computer, you can add a flag to the make file to use 64-bit pointers by opening the makefile and changing the lines that read:” I don’t seem to have/can’t find a makefile within the mothur folder.

Is there something I am doing wrong?

Thanks

You don’t need to run make because you already have mothur :slight_smile: so you can ignore that message.

1. Move your files into the mothur folder.
  2. From command prompt: mothur Carrie$ ./mothur
  3. You should now see:

When using, please cite:
    Schloss, P.D., et al., Introducing mothur: Open-source, platform-independent, community-supported software for describing and comparing microbial communities. Appl Environ Microbiol, 2009. 75(23):7537-41.

Distributed under the GNU General Public License

Type ‘help()’ for information on the commands that are available

Type ‘quit()’ to exit program

mothur >