Trouble Using Mothur

Hi all,

I apologize if this is the wrong section of the forum that I am posting in. I am a new user for mothur, and am having trouble installing it and running it. I unzipped mothur into my home folder of my mac (macbook), and I think it installed correctly. When it comes to combining data or analyzing data, how do I begin to do it? Do I have to transfer my data files INTO the mothur folder? How do I create a batchfile for my data? I am new to C++ and terminal, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Ps. I ran my samples on a MiSeq desktop sequencer.

Thank you!

Welcome to the mothur community! You may find this thread helpful, Running a script from command line Also, be sure to check out the wiki, http://www.mothur.org/wiki/Main_Page and Pat’s example analysis’ http://www.mothur.org/wiki/454_SOP and http://www.mothur.org/wiki/MiSeq_SOP.

Thank you. I am slowly learning this. I was able to get mothur to make contigs, however when I try to remove the primer/barcode it gives me an error. I do NOT have an fna file and I made my own oligo file (following the same template as the example Pat has in the wiki). It gives me this error:

[WARNING]: This command can take a namefile and you did not provide one. The current namefile is SV003-001_S2_L001_R1_001.trim.contigs.names which seems to match SV003-001_S2_L001_R1_001.trim.contigs.good.summary.
[WARNING]: {\RTF1\ANSI\ANSICPG1252\COCOARTF1265\COCOASUBRTF210 is not recognized as a valid type. Choices are forward, reverse, and barcode. Ignoring {\FONTTBL\F0\FMODERN\FCHARSET0.
[WARNING]: COURIER;\F1\FNIL\FCHARSET0 is not recognized as a valid type. Choices are forward, reverse, and barcode. Ignoring CAMBRIA;}.
[WARNING]: {\COLORTBL;\RED255\GREEN255\BLUE255;\RED247\GREEN247\BLUE247;} is not recognized as a valid type. Choices are forward, reverse, and barcode. Ignoring \MARGL1440\MARGR1440\VIEWW10800\VIEWH8400\VIEWKIND0.