Stumped on getting started

So I’m brand new to mothur and illumina analysis in general having just started my Master’s program. I’ve run through the MiSeq SOP a few times no problem but we received a data set recently from Mr.DNA and I’m at a loss as to where to start.

We were provided with the raw data in R1 and R2 .fastq files from a paired end MiSeq run and I was able to generate my own oligos files based off the mapping file that was also given. Whenever I try to make.contigs using the two fastq files and my oligos file everything gets put into scrap rather than trim. Speaking to a post-doc that previously worked in this lab, "the R1 and R2 fastq files are not in the proper orientation (not all of the sequences present are in the forward direction). So, roughly half of the sequences in the R1 and R2 files are in the opposite orientation. Those that are will fail on the barcodes (since there is a barcode only on one strand). " I don’t know if there’s a workaround for that or not. I’ve tried generating fasta and qual files from the fastq files using fastq.info but if I then try to run trim.seqs on those files using

trim.seqs(fasta=horse_R1.fasta, qfile=horse_R1.qual, qaverage=25, flip=T, oligos=dowd.oligos, processors=8)

This too also puts everything in scrap.

If instead of starting with the 2 fastq files I start with 071814UD515F-full.fasta and 071814UD515F-full.qual which are files from the MR.DNA pipeline and are supposedly “These files contain the raw sequence data information and still have primers and barcodes” I run into similar issues where everything is scrapped if I run the same trim.seqs on the file.

If I remove the primer sequences from my oligos file then the vast majority makes it into trim with only those of poor quality going into scrap. This still has the issue though of the primers being present in my sequences. If I continue trying to process these files I eventually run into issues when I do unique.seqs