Running SOP with a single fasta file containing multiple pre-processed sequences

Hi,
I’m brand new to mothur, and I want to perform a sequence alignment and then build a tree following the mothur SOP. However, my starting point is a single fasta file containing ~40,000 unique sequences that were pre-processed in dada2. What is the best “entry point” in the SOP considering the current format of my data? Do I need to split up into multiple fastas? Currently, the summary.seqs command yields the following output:
mothur > summary.seqs(fasta = buffalo_seqs.fasta)

Using 1 processors.

Start   End     NBases  Ambigs  Polymer NumSeqs
Minimum:        0       0       0       0       1       1
2.5%-tile:      0       0       0       0       1       1103
25%-tile:       0       0       0       0       1       11026
Median:         0       0       0       0       1       22052
75%-tile:       0       0       0       0       1       33078
97.5%-tile:     0       0       0       0       1       43001
Maximum:        1       18030465        18030465        0       8       44103
Mean:   2.26742e-05     408.826 408.826 0       1.00016
# of Seqs:      44103

Output File Names:
buffalo_seqs.summary

It took 2 secs to summarize 44103 sequences.

So it looks like mothur is interpreting all the bases in the file as a single sequence rather than splitting them up into the individual sequences.

Dear Claire,

if an alignment and a phylogenetic tree of your sequences is all you want then there are better ways and software out there than mothur (sorry Pat & co! :slight_smile:).

However, if you want/need to use mothur then I think you should just start with

mothur > align.seqs(fasta=buffalo_seqs.fasta, reference=silva.seed_v132.align)