Problems handling a >50 Gb distance matrix (cluster command)

Dear Pat Schloss and mothur community,

I’ve been using mothur since mid 2009’s in several different contexts (454, cloning libraries, functional genes, etc.), and it always worked fine. Nevertheless, our recent project on marine sediments gave us a bunch of new 454 sequences that we found many problems to deal with - in a few words the phyllip distance matrix has 51.3 Gb and our lab computer has only 16 Gb RAM, and therefore the cluster command can’t calculate OTUs. I am still not sure if it is a mothur problem, a hardware problem, or both (I guess it is hardware).

In details:

• Computer: Dell XPS 8700, Intel i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40 GHz x 8, 16 Gb RAM, Linux Ubuntu release 12.04 (precise) 64-bit.

• Mothur used: v.1.30.2 (4/19/2013)

• 454 GS FLX Pyrosequencing was used to sequence 16S rRNA (V4-V6) in a multiplex system with different libraries. A total of 15 libraries belong to the same project on marine sediment, they represent 5 different sampling points with 3 replicates each (5 samples X 3 replicates = 15 libraries)

• After trimming (qual file used, barcode mismatch =1, primer mismatch=2, only Phred score > 20 accepted, minimum length 460 and maximum length 570), and quimera checking (Chimera Slayer algorithm), the total number of high quality sequences is 117,267 reads with average read length of 495 bp.

• Alignment done on mothur using Silva database, and filtered for vertical gaps with filter.seqs command. The aligned file has 200 Mb.

-The distance matrix generated is a phyllip formated table with size 51.3 Gb. This matrix was build with cutoff=0.20