pre.cluster

I wanted to confirm that for preclustering it is necessary to do the following beforehand:

1)unique
2)align
3)filter the sequences (ie. stopping at the “mothur > filter.seqs(fasta=sogin.unique.align, vertical=T)” command according to the Sogin instructions.

If I wanted to cluster the preclustered sequences afterwards to determine Chao richness, this means that I would return to the Sogin Data Analysis page to perform a distance matrix (mothur > dist.seqs(fasta=sogin.unique.filter.fasta, cutoff=0.10)) based on the *precluster.fasta file. Then I would do the clustering of sequences according to the read.dist and read.otu commands.

Hope this makes sense. Any input is appreciated. I am a beginner as it may very well appear.

Thank you!

You’ll want to do…

align.seqs
screen.seqs
filter.seqs
unique.seqs
precluster

I woudl strongly encourage you to not follow the Sogin analysis and instead follow the Schloss SOP wiki page.

Hi,

Thank you for the response.

1)do you suggest that I start from scratch using the Schloss SOP page (starting from the shhh.flows command to denoise as this is my goal) and then align, screen, filter, unique and precluster?
2)after preclustering, how do I determine species richness, diversity as was done on the Sogin data analysis page (which commands as this is not listed on the Schloss SOP page).

Thank you.

Yes. See the sections on alpha diversity.

Thank you for the help.

It is going smoothly, however, I am stumped at the moment.

I do not have the *.oligos file. I do have the *.sff file. Therefore, I cannot proceed at the mothur > trim.flows(flow=SW.flow, oligos=SW.oligos, pdiffs=2, bdiffs=1, processors=2) step.

Where can I find this *.oligos file.

Thank you for your time!

You need to get it from your sequence provider. This is how mothur knows what sequence goes into each group.

I was trying to run the shhh and for some reason am encountering the following message: