output from get.seqs

Hello

I am a mothur newbie and a bit confused about my results.
Before analysing my processed data I wanted to separate it into 22 samples and therefore split up my groups file into 22 new groups files and ran list.seqs with each groups file to get corresponding accnos files.

I than ran for each sample:
mothur > get.seqs(accnos=A1_V.accnos, fasta=AmpIfinal.fasta)
Selected 533 sequences from your fasta file.
Output File Names:
AmpIfinal.pick.fasta
The total number of sequences selected for each sample added up to the total number of unique sequences.

Then I ran:
mothur > get.seqs(accnos=A1_V.accnos, name=AmpIfinal.names, fasta=AmpIfinal.fasta, group=A1_V.groups, dups=F)
Selected 2289 sequences from your name file.
Selected 611 sequences from your fasta file.
Selected 2289 sequences from your group file.
The number of sequences selected from my names files and groups files add up to the total amount of sequences but the number of sequences selected from the fasta files are higher than the number of unique sequences.

Can anyone please explain this discrepancy.
Should I keep the 22 new names files and groups files and run get.seqs for the fasta files separately or will I run into problems later if get.seqs is not run simultaneously for the names, fasta and groups files?

Thank you in advance
Snaedis

Welcome to the mothur community! What version of mothur are you using? The list.seqs and get.seqs should do what you are trying to do, but it may be easier to do with the split.groups command, http://www.mothur.org/wiki/Split.groups.

Yes, split.groups sounds easier. Thanks for the suggestion. :slight_smile:

I am using v.1.32.1. However, running the same commands in v.1.24.0 resulted in extraction of the correct numbers of unique sequences.