OTU determination.

Hello,

I am new to Mothur so I have been tutoring myself using the very explanatory manual for Mothur. However, I am having a bit of trouble. I am trying to determine the OTUs for my set of around 500 sequences which encompasses sequences from various sampling sites. I have a FASTA file of the alignments I have made and I built a distance matrix using the dist.seqs command. When I read the distance matrix on to the memory and cluster it though I get no OTUs. I am wondering if it is something I am doing wrong. I would be very grateful for any help or insights in to this.

Thanks,

Nikhil Ram Mohan
Graduate Student
Department of Molecular and Cell Biology
University of Connecticut

Can you give us a blow by blow list of the commands you are using so we can help you out? Have you looked at the Costello analysis example to see how to proceed?

Pat

Hello,

Thanks a lot for offering to help. This is how I went about it.

I have an alignment of around 500 sequences that I created using MacClade. I created a unique file on these using the unique.seqs command. Next I filtered the sequences before I could create a distance matrix using the dist.seqs command. I read the distance on to the memory using the read.dist command and then clustered it. This is what I did but got no OTUs.

I guess I was looking for a bit more detail. Are these 16S sequences? If so, why macclade? How are you filtering the sequences? When you look at the output of filtering are there any sequences. When you look at the distance matrix, are there any distances? If so, what is the smallest distance you see?

Pat