Issues with setting up pipeline using NCBI SRAs

Hello, I am an undergraduate senior and am very new to mothur. I am doing a project in school following the Mothur tutorial through the Galaxy Server using published NCBI SRAs instead of the tutorial data. I am running into an issue with my count tables having a lack of metadata (output from Count.seqs). The NCBI source page reads that the layout is paired so am skipping the pairing step and Make.contigs (when I try these steps, the command fails). These are the steps I have done before getting an issue

Before data-cleaning steps, the samples contained 160,000 and 190,000 sequences respectively.

1. Download and Extract Reads in FASTQ/FASTA (used two different samples from same study)

2. Create collection of the two outputs

3. FASTQ to FASTA converter on collection

4. Summary.seqs on converted collection (logfile=yes)

5. Make.groups on converted collection (automatically from collection)

5. Screen.seqs on converted collection and make.groups output(maxlength= 251, maxambig=0, groupfile=make.groups output, logfile=yes)

6. Unique.seqs on Screen.seqs output (output format=Name file, logfile=yes)

7. Count.seqs on names output from Unique.seqs and group file from Screen.seqs

This is where the issue occurs. Count.seqs usually fails (for some reason a few times only one of the samples failed) but if I exclude the group file, then I am missing metadata for further steps. This really becomes an issue when getting to the Cluster.split command.

If anyone has any feedback, I would really appreciate it.

I am happy to help. Could you be running out of disk space or memory resources?

If not, could you tell me the version of mothur you are running? Could you post the exact commands you ran in mothur, as well as the error messages mothur is reporting?

Hello, thank you for your help!