Another Installation problem with Ubuntu 9.10

I’m also having problems installing mothur using Ubuntu 9.0. I used a similar process to the one Ameet Pinto used:

1. sudo apt-get install build-essential
  2. remove readline section from the beginning of the makefile
  3. cd mothur
  4. cd Mothur.source
  5. make

Unfortunately, it doesn’t seem to make an executible file for mothur. I get the following message at the end of the make:
/usr/bin/ld: final link failed: Invalid operation
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make: *** [mothur] Error 1

And when I try to run it by using the “./mothur” command I get the following error:
bash: ./mothur: No such file or directory

Does anyone have some advice? This is my first time using Ubuntu so maybe there’s a change I need to make to my system?

If it helps, I got the following errors while trying to install the library before doing the make:
dmbaptista@:~/mothur$ sudo apt-get install readline
Reading package lists… Done
E: Couldn’t find package readline
dmbaptista@:~/mothur$ apt-get install libreadline-dev
E: Could not open lock file /var/lib/dpkg/lock - open (13: Permission denied)
E: Unable to lock the administration directory (/var/lib/dpkg/), are you root?

I don’t know if this problem is connected to the above one. I’d appreciate any advice or insight. Thanks!

-Damon

dmbaptista@:~/mothur$ sudo apt-get install readline
Reading package lists… Done
E: Couldn’t find package readline
dmbaptista@:~/mothur$ apt-get install libreadline-dev
E: Could not open lock file /var/lib/dpkg/lock - open (13: Permission denied)
E: Unable to lock the administration directory (/var/lib/dpkg/), are you root?

You need to add sudo to the above:

dmbaptista@:~/mothur$ sudo apt-get install libreadline-dev

./mothur is not working because it didn’t finish building because it was unable to link the readline library.

Hi Westcott,