Analisis of FUNGI with UNITE database in Mothur

Hi all,
I’m a PhD student, just at the begin with mothur analysis… I got a problem when I have to align sequences usign “align.seqs” comand.

I downloaded the database of fungi from UNITE website, but I didn’t find the “aligned file”.

I tried to process align.seqs comand with all file found in the UNITE directory dowloaded, as:
UNITEv6_sh_97.fasta
UNITEv6_sh_99.fasta
UNITEv6_sh_dynamic.fasta

But none is working…please can you help me?
Any help will be very apreciate

best regards to all

Sara

Assuming you have 18S rRNA gene sequence data, you would probably want the eukaryotic silva database that we have posted

https://www.mothur.org/wiki/Silva_reference_files

Pat

Hi Pat, thank for replying.

I obtained sequences from 18S-ITS1-5.8S regions of fungi, and now I’m trying to process data with Mothur!

I thought that in UNITE folder there was the align.file and when I didnt find it I was in doubt!

Regards

ITS can’t be aligned across all fungi because there’s too much evolution. Here is my batch for processing ITS2 seqs with mothur.

I’ve never worked with ITS1 data so don’t know how well UNITE covers that region, you may be better off with Silva

Hi Path,

Really thank for your recommendation!! We have also primers to amplify the ITS2 region, but as we are at the begin of fungi analysis, I’m trying to test different software package in order to understand if I will be able to work with fungi :slight_smile:

Thank again!

sara

Hi Patrick,

Really thank for your recommendation!! We have also primers to amplify the ITS2 region, but as we are at the begin of fungi analysis, I’m trying to test different software package in order to understand if I will be able to work with fungi :slight_smile:

Thank again!

sara

1 Like

Hi Patrick,

Thank again!

sara

Dear Patrick,

When I run a command I get a Logfile; but every time I run the same command again, the previous logfile is deleted…

Is it normal?