A couple questions of analyzing Hiseq data following Miseq SOP

Hi all,

I’m new to mothur and it’s a bumpy road so far.

So I’m following Miseq SOP to analyze our own data. We happen to sequence v6 region as well. Although a couple problems that I ran into:

1. We got Hiseq data, with only one .fastq and .fna data per sample, but the sequencing was PE. I didn’t know if the company merge/contigs rfastq and ffastq for us or not. How can I tell by looking at fastq or fna data, please?

For example, fna data looks like this

H1_0
TACGGAGGATGCGAGCGTTATCCGGATTTATTGGGTTTAAAGGGAGCGTAGACGGGTCCTTAAGTCAGTTGTGAAAGTTT
GCGGCTCAACCGTAAAATTGCAGTTGATACTGGGGACCTTGAGTGCGGCAGAGGCAGGCGGAATTCGTGGTGTAGCGGTG
AAATGCTTAGATATCACGAAGAACTCCGATTGCGAAGGCAGCTTGCTGGACCGTAACTGACGTTGATGCTCGAAAGTGCG
GGTATCAAACAGG
H1_1
TACGTAGGTGGCAAGCGTTGTCCGGATTTATTGGGCGTAAAGCGAGCGCAGGCGGTCTTTTAAGTCTGATGTGAAAGCCC
CCGGCTTAACCGGGGAGGGTCATTGGAAACTGGGAGACTTGAGTGCAGAAGAGGAAAGCGGAATTCCATGTGTAGCGGTG
AAATGCGTAGATATATGGAGGAACACCAGTGGCGAAGGCGGCTTTCTGGTCTGTAACTGACGCTGAGGCTCGAAAGCGTG
GGGAGCAAACAGG
H1_2
TACGGGGGATGCGAGCGTTATCCGGATTTATTGGGTTTAAAGGGCGCGTAGGCGGGACGCCAAGTCAGCGGTAAAAGACT
GCAGCTAAACTGTAGCACGCCGTTGAAACTGGCGCCCTCGAGACGAGACGAGGGAGGCGGAACAAGTGAAGTAGCGGTGA
AATGCTTAGATATCACTTGGAACCCCGATAGCGAAGGCAGCTTCCCAGGCTCGATCTGACGCTGATGCGCGAGAGCGTGG
GTAGCGAACAGG
H1_3
TACGTAGGGGGCAAGCGTTATCCGGATTTACTGGGTGTAAAGGGAGCGTAGACGGGACAGCAAGTCTGATGTGAAAGGCG
GGGGCTCAACCCCCGGACTGCATTGGAAACTGCTGACCTGGAGTACCGGAGGGGTAAGCGGAATTCCTAGTGTAGCGGTG
AAATGCGTAGATATTAGGAGGAACACCGGTGGCGAAGGCGGCTTACTGGACGGTAACTGACGTTGAGGCTCGAAAGCGTG
GGGAGCAAACAGG

and fastq data looks like this
@H1_0 SN7001328:511:H2WKLBCXX:1:1101:4739:2211 1:N:0:GACAGTGC orig_bc=AAAAAAAAAAAA new_bc=AAAAAAAAAAAA bc_diffs=0
TACGGAGGATGCGAGCGTTATCCGGATTTATTGGGTTTAAAGGGAGCGTAGACGGGTCCTTAAGTCAGTTGTGAAAGTTTGCGGCTCAACCGTAAAATTGCAGTTGATACTGGGGACCTTGAGTGCGGCAGAGGCAGGCGGAATTCGTGGTGTAGCGGTGAAATGCTTAGATATCACGAAGAACTCCGATTGCGAAGGCAGCTTGCTGGACCGTAACTGACGTTGATGCTCGAAAGTGCGGGTATCAAACAGG
+