Total newbie, totally flummoxed

I have a set of 16s RNA data that I have been trying to analyze for 2 months. After all my reading and futsing around with QIIME, mothur, uncle’s pants, aunt’s drawers and so many other programs, I cannot even figure out the very first step that I want to accomplish. I know somwhere on some web page someones has the perfect command - but geez, have I had trouble finding that one. OK so here 's the story.

Lets take my control sample. It came to me as 8 files (just one sample): Forward and reverse reads and each having 4 lanes, like this. (Illumina Next Generation Sequencing )

Control_ssr_35427__R1__L001.fastq.gz
Control_ssr_35427__R1__L002.fastq.gz
Control_ssr_35427__R1__L003.fastq.gz
Control_ssr_35427__R1__L004.fastq.gz
Control_ssr_35427__R2__L001.fastq.gz
Control_ssr_35427__R2__L002.fastq.gz
Control_ssr_35427__R2__L003.fastq.gz
Control_ssr_35427__R2__L004.fastq.gz

Expanding any one .gz file gives me ONLY one fastq file - no mapping file, no barcodes etc. etc. I am presuming that the primers/barcodes have been removed cleaned up for me??? Please assume I cannot get that info anyways. That’s another story.

1. The overall question is how do I merge all the files into one file. I know that many people suggest to keep the lanes and analyze them separately, but I have trouble managing one file, how do I manage 4 files even after 'pairing" R1 & R2

In QIIME: join_paired_ends.py or multiple_join… gives me 4 folders with another 3 files in each…so now I have 4x3=12 files. It pairs the reads without error, but the resulting files make even less sense to me. Is there not somewhere that explains any of this?

1. Trying to merge lanes is hell on earth for me.

So I cannot even get started :frowning: :frowning: … Any help is appreciated.

I am sorry to hear you have had such a struggle, prem.