SOP for ITS analysis using Sanger sequencing?

Sorry if this is a ridiculous question, but I am completely new to bioinformatics & relatively new to molecular biology, coming from a more traditional Ecology background. I have fungal ITS sequences produced from the Sanger method in an experimental design using leaf discs incubated in microcosms & I am now ready to start analyzing the community.

I’ve noticed that there are SOP’s for 454, Illumina, & other sequencing platforms, but I have yet to find any SOP for sequences produced using the Sanger method. Does an SOP exist for this? If not, what is the best approach to take when coming up with a procedure?

Again, sorry if this is an elementary question, but I’m definitely learning “on-the-fly”.

Cheers!

Hi!
You mentioned “analyzing the community”… did you sequenced a clone library constructed after amplification of ITS sequences from a total DNA extracted from an environmental sample? or are you talking about ITS sanger sequences obtained from isolates?
If the Sanger ITS sequences come from clone libraries obtained from environmental samples, I guess you can use (adapt) the 454 SOP (I did it with 16S bacterial clone libraries) but you will have to see which database you can use to identify OTUs.
But, if you have ITS sequences obtained from isolates, then you will have to deal one by one if you want good quality analysis and reliable identification. In that case, I guess nothing to do with Mothur, but I may be able to help. Just let me know!
Cheers,
Susana

Hey Susana & thanks for your reply!!