NMDS+CorrAxes vs CCA ???

Hi
I’m not experienced in statistics, and trying to get the best from my data, I have a question about which option is the best and if both are correct for community analysis based on 16S sequences.

• One option is to plot the ordination (NMDS or PCoA) and as a biplot include the vectors from the correlation of the environmental variables and also the OTUs to see which OTUs are responsible for the differential structure of the communities, isn’t it? And in this case, should I plot all the vectors for the OTUs or how is possible to select for plotting only those being statistically significant as responsibles for the shifting of the samples along the axes?

• And other option would be Canonical Correspondence Analysis, even with the possibility to make a triplot with the ordination of samples, OTUs and the vectors from environmental variables. Is that correct? But in this case I won’t have any probabilities to decide which of the OTUs are more responsible for the ordination of the samples

I appreciate some help here!
Thanks to all!

Since this post has gone unanswered a while I’ll take a crack at it, although I’m not completely confident in my understanding of how CCA works.

I would recommend you do the first option (NMDS or PCoA) over CCA. CCA is really for when you’re trying to discard the influence of certain variables in your system, but it seems like you’re more interested in plotting the data as it is and then looking for the biggest influences. Between NMDS and PCoA it doesn’t matter too much which you use, if you can get a good NMDS then I’d say that’s ‘better’ for answering your question, but it’s not anything to stress over if you use PCoA.