help with make.contigs using an index file

I am new to mothur, and am having trouble with one of the earliest stages (make.contigs).

I have 3 files:

1. sequences_R1.fastq
  2. sequences_R2.fastq
  3. index_I1.fastq

The sequences still have their primers, but the barcodes have been completely removed and are instead found in the index file. I created a stability file in the 4 column format as follows:

sequences_R1.fastq sequences_R2.fastq index_I1.fastq none
I also created an oligos file, indicating the forward/reverse primers and the sequences of the barcodes.

I attempted make.contigs by inputing the following:

mothur> make.contgis(file=sequences.stability, oligos= sequences.oligos)
However, all of my sequences were placed into the scraps.contigs file, and my trim.contigs file was empty. Does anyone know why this is happening, and if there is something I am not doing correctly?

It looks like you are setting up the file correctly. Have you tried using bdiffs=1, pdiffs=2? Could you post the oligos file? What are the scrap codes mothur is giving you for failing the sequences?

I set up a tab delimited oligos file is as follows:

primer forward_primer_sequence reverse_primer_sequence V4
barcode oligo_sequence none sample_ID

What do you mean by "scrap codes?" Is this found in the contig.report?

what does bdiffs=1 and bdiffs=2 do? I don’t recall seeing this in the mothur SOP for MiSeq, so I have not tried this.

In the *.scrap.fasta file, you will see things like this:

M00178_4_000000000-A1AE6_1_1101_13868_1395|bf
TGTCACCTACGGGAGGCAGCAGTGGGTANTATTTGACNATGNGGAAAGCNTGA…