duration of analyses

Hi all,
I am new to mothur and recently started analysing my Miseq data using the Miseq SOP from the mothur website.
I tried on my smallest data set and it took my computer (windows 64-bit, 4 GB) quite a long time to calculate the commands. The cluster.split command especially took days. After 9 days of calculation mothur closed and I got the error message, there is too little memory to run the command. I am now trying only four samples on a 16 GB windows 64bit computer and its working out quite well. But in this case I have to merge the files for the final alayses.
Here are my two questions:
First: Did I make a mistake that the commands take that long time or is this normal?
Second: Is it wise to merge the shared files or should I do this after another step?

Thanks a lot! This programm and website are really great! Thanks!

Hi,

Welcome to the mothur club :wink:

Can you give some context for what type of data you have? What region? What type of reads? etc?

Pat

Hi and thanks for the warm welcome!
I generated the data on a Miseq sequencer, using 300 bp paired end method, targeting the V1-V3 region of bacterial 16S DNA.
The run generated around 150,000 sequences in total for each of the samples. The small data set, my computer was not able to analyse, has 7 samples. My biggest data set has 33 samples. I tried the work flow with only one sample and it behaved well this time. So I subgrouped the bigger data sets now, 4 samples each time. Still, the chimera (I am using uchime) and the cluster.split command take hours to calculate. The chimera command needs around 3 hours for each sample, the cluster.split command for a 4 sample subgroup took over night to split 60,000 sequences. So it will probably take weeks to analyse all the samples this way, because I have more than 80 in total.
Thanks a lot in advance!

Hey,