Definition of singleton, doubleton and quadrupletons in OTU

Greeting,

I want to ask a basic question regarding OTU.

What is the meaning of singleton, doubleton, tripleton and quadrupletons in OTU?

I am very new in this field, I had 351 16S rRNA clone library sequences for oil palm plantation soil sites. I want to make rarefaction curve from my samples. So now I still learning about how to do it using Mothur.

Can anyone help me with these definitions?

I really appreciate it.

Thank you so much

• Nor Hashimah

Singleton - an OTU with only one sequence. Doubleton - an OTU with two sequences, etc…

Thank you so much.

May I know how can if OTU is singleton, doubleton, etc?

You can look in the list file or use the sabund file - the first column is the cutoff, the second column is the number of sequences in the largest OTU. Then comes the number of singletons, doubletons, etc.

Thank you so much for your help.

I have one more question.

For align.seqs command, after I used it for my sample, it showed this :

Some of you sequences generates alignments that eliminated too many bases, a list is provided in Sample1.unique.flip.accnos.
If you set the flip parameter to true mothur will try to aligning the reverse compliment as well.

From above comment, does it mean, I need to reverse compliment my sequences first before try to use align.seqs command?

Thank you so much

Some sequences align poorly and give that notice because they end up getting trimmed. If you know your sequences are in the correct (5’ to 3’) direction, then don’t worry about it, they’ll get junked in the screen.seqs command. If most/all of your sequences end up in the flip.accnos file then you should probably have flipped them back in trim.seqs. You can always just run align.seqs wiht flip=T as the message says.

Pat

Thank you so much, Prof.Pat

The more I learned, the more I’m interested in mothur!

I would like to ask another question.