Where to now? V4 region 16S rRNA (v3 Kit- 600 cycle)

Hi there :slight_smile:

I’ve read quite a few of the posts on the mothur forum and realised all the problems I have and will be experiencing when I analyze my data. This post may seem like a rant, I do apologize. But I am in desperate need for guidance.:cherry_blossom::cherry_blossom::cherry_blossom:

First things first, I am a MSc Medical Microbiology student with no bioinformatic experience (besides what I’ve tried doing by myself and a single course I’ve attended- which only helps when you have ideal data to work with) and only one other microbiome project has been conducted within our division thus far. I am working with nasopharyngeal aspirate samples, and we targeted the V4 region of the 16S rRNA gene. Sequencing was done on the Illumina Miseq platform using the V3 kit (600 cycles)(eeeek :sweat:) we done the sequencing in collaboration with another university and therefore followed their wetlab preparation.

With regards to the sequencing run, the run did not complete as a result of load shedding (welcome to South Africa :)). The run ended at about 590 cycles (and therefore shorter reverse reads) and the fastq files had to be generated manually (according to Illuminas guidelines). I therefore also have no information of the sequencing run itself other than the fastq files that was manually generated.

I checked the quality of the forward and reverse reads using fastqc. The forward read is fully sequenced (300bp) and the quality is >30 up to position ~175bp. As for the reverse read the sequenced length is about 275bp and the quality is well bad (>20 up to position 75 sometimes). Please see and example of the quality for one of my samples, html files below.

file:///wfs/biggie/Bianca/fastqc_html/ST00356873_S51_L001_R1_001_fastqc.html
file:///wfs/biggie/Bianca/fastqc_html/ST00356873_S51_L001_R2_001_fastqc.html