DADA2 in Mothur?

Hi. I heard in a course I attended recently that now QiimeII is more powerful and more asked to be used when reviewers judge a manuscript, due to the implementation of DADA2 but not because of the dicotomy between OTU vs ASV but because of the algorithms implemented to filter and deal with sequences before clustering in ASV.
What is the opinion of mothur loving people about that? and would it be possible to include DADA2 algorithms inside Mothur as it was implemented in QiimeII?
Sorry I am not experienced but I am reluctant to accept “don’t use Mothur anymore”
Thank you, cheers.
Susana

1 Like

LOL. Who said that? Did they show any actual data? Reviewers who trash manuscript for using mothur over QIIME or QIIME over mothur are lazy and don’t deserve to review manuscripts. They need to provide specific points for why one should be used over the other.

For instance, I would have serious problems with papers that use open or closed reference clustering in QIIME based on the series of papers we have published over the past few years.

I would also have problems with people using ASVs and rejecting OTUs out of hand. ASVs have a real risk of splitting 16S rRNA genes from the same genome into different ASVs. When you add that dada fits a model with hundreds of parameters and then applies a ridiculously low p-value threshold, you start to see that it has problems. The reality is that dada looks better than mothur’s pre.cluster because they remove all of the singletons. If you leave them in, the performances are about the same. Removing singletons will have a negative impact on the ability to calculate alpha and beta diversity metrics and estimate relative abundance.

You might also want to read a lengthy blog post I wrote on mothur and QIIIME.

6 Likes

Can I cite this forum post in my response to a reviewer about why I left in singletons when I performed my analysis?